New Year’s Resolutions

I’ve never been big on New Year’s resolutions, I tend to think it’s pretty arbitrary to decide to change something just because January roles around. A few years ago I made one I’ve tried to keep ever since: no regrets. Not to make myself do things out of the ordinary, but more to be comfortable with the decisions I’ve made, and when making a choice, consider if I will regret doing or not doing something. Such as going to law school: not the easiest path to take, but when it came down to it, I realized in ten years I would probably regret not having done it, so I made the decision to go. And despite cursing myself repeatedly for it, I know it was the right decision.

This new year I have a whole list, not of resolutions, but a to-do list for after law school. At the very top of that list is to be better at maintaining and updating this blog. Since I’ve been radio silent for about six months, I have some catching up to do. Which I’ll save for a future post. Since I finished law school in December (assuming I passed all my classes– still waiting for grades!), right now I want to post my top three post-law school resolutions, which happen to coincide with the beginning of 2014.

1. Reconnect with friends I’ve been neglecting for about three and a half years. At least, those who will take me back 🙂 So, if you’re reading this and want to catch up, you know where to find me. Now, I will add the caveat that studying for the Bar Exam may mean I still won’t be much better about this until March, but I’m willing to plan ahead!

2. Keep up with my blog. I started this blog because I was traveling a lot for work, and going through the Foreign Service hiring process. Well, with sequester and additional budget cuts my work travel has come to a complete halt, and the Foreign Service has drastically reduced its hiring, to the point where I will definitely expire of the register in May. I’ll make another go of it, maybe sign up for the exam again in June, but it is, as it always has been, Plan B. But I will try to keep blogging, hopefully I’ll have some personal travel to write about, and until then, my painful studying for the Bar Exam may provide others some entertainment.

3. Find balance. I’ve worn myself out over the past few years managing work and school simultaneously, and I’m ready to be done with that. My personal life has suffered (see #1 above), and those around me have probably noticed my increasing lack of patience. Which I really attribute to a lack of balance, which makes the little things seem disproportionately important. It’s not so much that I need more “me” time, but that I need more social time with friends and family, doing things on the evenings and weekends other than sleeping and studying. Work to live, not live to work, right? Also, I’m thinking about taking up yoga again, so I will need to literally find balance.

The to-do list is much longer, and is divided into multiple categories, but I think I’ll leave it there for now. Happy New Year to everyone, and let’s see what 2014 brings!

One comment

Leave a Reply

