Changing the World: Joining the Foreign Service

The State Department released this video about joining and life in the Foreign Service. As I am gearing up to take the written exam again in February, I was thinking about writing a post describing the hiring process for those friends and family who are always asking me about it, and thought this would be a nice lead-in. For all of you who are wondering what this career is that I seem so intent on pursuing, this video demonstrates the breadth of challenges and opportunities foreign service officers experience. While I realize its not for everyone, I expect those who know me, upon watching this, will realize why this career appeals to me. Sometime soon I’ll post the steps in the hiring process, and my experience so far. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

