Registered!

“[wanderingbrowncoat], you are currently number 53 out of 83 on the consular register. You should receive a letter in the mail within a week, depending on how the mail runs.”

The oh so long-awaited response to my email asking if there was any good news I could share with my family over Thanksgiving!  Even though I know my spot on the register in no way guarantees I will be invited to a class, I am hopeful once offers start going out for this year’s classes I will move up, and hopefully be invited to one of the later classes this year.  It has been exactly six months since I passed the FSOA, and it has been six months on pins and needles.  When I read this email today, I felt like a weight had lifted off my shoulders, because I had finally cleared the clearance hurdles, and whatever happens next, I know I meet all the requirements to join the Foreign Service.  I may take the written exam again in February in hopes of boosting my score and spot on the register, but the anxiety of possibly being told I didn’t pass the suitability review is gone.  I also immediately apologized to my co-workers who have been the victims of my continued anxiety and stress about getting on the register; thanks guys for being so patient and (mostly) supportive. 😉

And speaking of registration, last week I registered for spring classes, White Collar Crime, Administrative Law, and Wills, Trusts, and Estates.  If any lawyers out there reading this have any recommended study aids to get me through these classes, please send your advice my way!

I hope everyone has a Happy Thanksgiving!

4 thoughts on “Registered!

  1. Congratulations on getting on the Register! I remember those months of nail-biting and constant email checking and worry, hoping to hear that my husband had jumped over all the hurdles and we were one step closer to being a Foreign Service couple!

    Like

  2. Congrats from one blog lurker to another! We’re sitting on the same register now! Hope to run into you in a not too distant future in the halls if the FSI!

    Like

Leave a Reply

