Great Falls

I didn’t forget about this blog, I promise, I just haven’t had anything very interesting to post for a while!  And then I realized I hadn’t posted any pictures from a day trip I took to Great Falls Park with an old high school friend.  I’m trying something different with my photos, so I only have a few to put up right now, but hope I’ll be able to post some more in a few weeks.  It was a gorgeous day, cool but sunny, pre-Frankenstorm, but after the leaves had begun to change, and me, my friend, and her 8-month old daughter enjoyed a leisurely stroll along the C&O Canal, and then off the main path toward the overlook of the Falls.

If you’re in the DC area, I highly recommend spending some time on the Canal; it’s very kid-friendly and great for walking, running, biking, and has a number of hiking paths for those with any level of hiking experience.  The Billy Goat Trail is a particular favorite.  The canal runs for 180+ miles from Cumberland, MD to Georgetown; someday I’d like to bike the whole thing (we’ll just let that one sit on the bucket list for a while).  At Great Falls, there’s parks on both the Maryland and Virginia side of the Potomac, although I’ve only ever been to the Maryland side.  Anyways, it’s a good, cheap, family-friendly day trip.

In other news, I’m waiting with anticipation for a letter telling me I’ve been added to the Foreign Service register.  After five months I finally got word a little over two weeks ago that my security clearance was successfully completed; all that is left is the Final Suitability Review.  I’ve been told this doesn’t usually take very long, and for some people it seems to take a matter of days.  Mine was, in theory, started two weeks ago.  So at this point, I have no idea what is going on.  With the election over, the federal budget is a central issue, and there is an expectation of a January A-100 class.  Of course, I won’t be in it, but I hope there is one so that I might be high enough on the register to hope for an invitation to a class later in the year.  In the meantime, I have a full time day job, and part time night school to keep me warm.

Finally, for the few who found this blog because they get the Browncoats reference, I just want to note that it has been 10 years since Serenity flew…. and Firefly was cancelled 😦  The Science Channel aired a 10 year anniversary special yesterday, if you missed it catch it on reruns, I’m sure they’ll be airing it for a while.  And to all the veterans whose service and sacrifice we remember today…. thank you.

2 comments

  1. I didn’t know you were interested in biking it! Dad and I have done it twice. It’s fun! It’s only about a 4 day trip. If you start in MD, it’s “downhill” the whole way 🙂 You should totally do it – especially now that they’ve completed the part that used the require a detour over some very steep hills, if memory serves correctly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

