San Francisco

Last week I went to San Francisco for work; the last time I was there was 15 years ago.  I remember riding the streetcar, going to Fisherman’s Wharf, taking a tour of Alcatraz, and then watching The Rock, which was in theaters at the time.  I also remember it being freezing in August, and having to buy a sweatshirt from a street vendor.

This time, I remembered it would be cold, but I forgot about the wind.  So, during my windy walk from Fisherman’s Wharf to meet a friend for dinner at the Ferry Building, when Scott McKenzie’s “San Francisco” came up on my iPod, my first thought was, ‘worst advice EVER!’  “If you’re going to San Francisco, be sure to wear some flowers in your hair.“?  Sure, go ahead, but make sure they’re attached by duct tape or super glue, otherwise they’re gonna be gone the moment you step outside!

Anyways, here are a few pictures from the trip.  We actually went to Sonoma first for our meeting, then went back into the city, stopping at the Golden Gate Bridge overlook.

 

My classes start again tomorrow, so I’ll most likely be staying put in DC for the most part over the next few months, although there may be a couple long weekend mini-vacations on the horizon, too soon to say yet.  Hopefully I won’t disappear entirely from this blog, I’m sure it will be a great way to procrastinate from getting my school work done.  

While I sit in limbo waiting for my security clearance to finish (an amazingly bureaucratic tale for another time– I actually know what the hold-up is, but have yet to figure out how to get things moving), I don’t have much Foreign Service-related to write about here.  I’m debating take the FSOT again, but may push off that decision until the February test.  At this point it’s really out of my control, and I can only cross my fingers that I am added to the register soon, remain calm and zen about the situation, and listen to relaxing, mellow music… “If you’re going to San Francisco, be sure to wear some flowers in your hair…..

Leave a Reply

