Hello world!

I know I’m late to the blogger game, and only a recent convert/believer myself: until a few months ago I really did NOT get the obsession and dedication to blogs I saw amongst my friends.  Then, I received my invite to the Foreign Service Oral Assessment, started reading everything I could find about the exam and the Foreign Service, and stumbled on this incredible world of Foreign Service blogs I had no idea existed.

Reading about other peoples’ experiences going through the Foreign Service application and hiring process, and then reading about their lives in the Foreign Service helped me prepare for the Exam, but even more, gave me an idea of what to expect if I was offered a position.  They’ve been invaluable to me, and also seemed like such a good way to keep track of  the experiences the bloggers had, as well as share those highlights with family and friends back home.  I decided if I passed the Oral Assessment, I would start my own blog, so that two, five, ten years from now, I would be able to look back and see not only where my journey started, but how far I had come.  And as a bonus, I could stay in touch, and keep my friends and family with me on my journey.

Much to my surprise and delight, I passed my first Oral Exam on Monday!  My score wasn’t stellar, so I’m not even sure if I’ll ultimately get an offer to be an FSO, but now seemed like a good time to start this blog nonetheless.  And I decided to give myself a little more legroom, to talk about more than just the Foreign Service, since the next few months of security/medical/suitability clearances will likely not be all that interesting.

I have a lot of other things going on in the short-term as well; case-in-point, I am writing this from my hotel room in Houston at the tail end of a business trip.  In just over a week I will be on a plane to The Netherlands, where I will be for four weeks, taking two courses as part of my law degree program.  I hope to do a little exploring while I’m in The Netherlands, so stay tuned!

I look forward to sharing my experiences and thoughts with you, whoever you are, and hope that you in turn will be more than the lurker that I have been on many blogs, and share you thoughts and opinions with me as well.  And if you discover this blog two years from now, don’t be a stranger or be afraid to introduce yourself, I’d love to hear from you!

8 thoughts on “Hello world!

    1. Thanks so much, I’m psyched to have passed, it’s still sinking in. And thanks for checking out my blog, I’ve been reading yours as well, although it’s taking me a while to catch up with all the ones I want to follow!

      Like

  1. I took the FSO exam when in my senior year of college – and barely missed the first cut-off (by one point). I am so glad to have found a blog about people who are serving as a FSO, as I still believe it would be a great way to explore the world and share information!

    Like

    1. I would definitely encourage you to take it again if you’re still interested, it’s given three times a year and you can take it once a year, for free, until you meet the age cut-off for hiring, which is 60 I think. I first took the written exam before they redesigned it a few years ago, and I also didn’t pass the first time. It’s a good ‘plan B;’ something to pursue while you live your real life. At least that’s how I’ve always looked at it.

      Like

      1. For me in high school, it was my “plan A.” I’ve always been interested in other cultures, international affairs, etc. Since becoming Secretary of State would be decades away – and the Peace Corps didn’t seem like the right fit for me, I had thought of doing the FSO as a career for a while. As life goes, things have come up and it might not be the ideal position for me right now – but it is something that I will always keep in the back of my head in hopes that I will be able to really make a difference in the world.

        Like

Leave a Reply

